My Kirsty – End of the Fairytale (2014)

My Kirsty, 2014 book by Jean Newlove
My Kirsty, 2014 book by Jean MacColl

Buy My Kirsty: End of the Fairytale from

“The short life and tragic death of Kirsty MacColl – Kirsty MacColl led a dazzling life – tender, creative, heroic and full of love. This book, by her mother Jean MacColl, charts with moving insight Kirsty’s early years, and celebrates her brilliant career at the front rank of the music business in the 1980s and 1990s, with such hits as the Pogues collaboration ‘Fairytale of New York’. It mourns her tragic and untimely death – killed by a speedboat in Mexican waters in December 2000. It also tells, with heartfelt truth, the shocking story of the elaborate cover-up and gross miscarriage of justice that followed and appeals for justice to be done in her name.”

This is a republished version of ‘Sun on the Water’, which was first published in 2008. Highly recommended!

Welcome to freeworld

This is the 2014 incarnation of the ‘freeworld’ Kirsty MacColl web site, now almost 19 years old! You can now easily add to the body of knowledge by leaving comments on virtually any part on the site, or continue to send messages to me via the Contact Us page. I hope you enjoy exploring the new site.